10 Unusual Japanese Fashions

Here’s an article I found with 10 distinctive unusual fashion trends in Japan.

http://listverse.com/2009/04/20/10-unusual-japanese-fashions-and-subcultures/

manba81md1.jpg

I thought that the most interesting trends were ganguro and manba. The origin of manba is interesting because it comes from fokelore referencing an ugly witch named Yamanba. I also think it is interesting how lighter skinned people want to have darker skin and darker skinned people want to have lighter skin. Just from my own personal experiences, it usually has been this way when talking with friends, hearing comments from other people, and even on television. I am unsure of most people that do the manba trend think it’s actually beautiful or if they do it for the shock value and attention. From my perspective, I think they do it out of fun and just to do something that is out there.

–Sky Thai

Leave a Reply

